Magic in Runes

Magic in Runes

The Elder Futhark is the oldest runic alphabet, consisting of 24 characters or runes. It was used by Germanic tribes in Northern Europe from around the 2nd to the 8th century. Each rune had a specific sound value and symbolic meaning.

These runes were not only used for writing but also had divinatory and magical purposes in the ancient Germanic cultures. Today, they are still used for divination, meditation, and as symbols in various contemporary mystical and spiritual practices, such as runic magic and modern Paganism.

Runic Magic:

Runic magic, also known as runecasting or runic divination, involves using the runes for various magical and divinatory purposes. Here are a few common forms of runic magic:

Rune Casting: This involves casting runes onto a surface and interpreting their arrangement and orientation. Different rune spreads are used for specific questions or situations.

Rune Meditation: Practitioners may meditate on a specific rune to invoke its energies or gain insights related to its symbolism.

Rune Spells: Runes can be inscribed or drawn on objects, talismans, or the body as part of spellwork. Each rune is believed to carry specific energies that can be harnessed in spellcasting.

Rune Bindrunes: Bindrunes are created by combining multiple runes into a single symbol. Each bindrune can be customized to embody specific intentions or magical purposes.

Divination: The Elder Futhark runes are often used for divination, similar to tarot cards or other forms of oracle cards. Practitioners may draw runes randomly or lay them out in specific patterns to gain insights into the past, present, or future.

Symbolism and Meanings:

Fehu (): Symbolizes wealth and abundance. In runic magic, it can be used to attract prosperity or safeguard resources.

Uruz (): Represents physical strength and primal power. It can be used for vitality, health, and personal transformation.

Thurisaz (): Signifies chaos and defense. It can be used for protection and warding off negative influences.

Ansuz (): Represents divine inspiration and communication. It's used for wisdom, guidance, and invoking higher powers.

Raido (): Symbolizes journeys, both physical and spiritual. It can be used for safe travels or personal growth.

Kenaz (): Stands for knowledge and controlled fire. It's used for creativity, inspiration, and illumination.

Gebo (): Signifies gifts and partnerships. It can be used for harmonizing relationships and fostering generosity.

Wunjo (): Represents joy and happiness. It's used for emotional healing and attracting positive energy.

Hagalaz (): Symbolizes hail and destructive forces. It can be used to break down obstacles or invoke change.

Naudiz (): Signifies need and constraint. It can be used to identify and address personal limitations.

Isaz (): Represents ice and challenges. It can be used to slow down or halt a situation.

Jera (): Stands for the harvest and patience. It can be used for reaping rewards or promoting growth.

Eihwaz (): Symbolizes transformation and change. It can be used for personal growth and adaptation.

Perthro (): Represents the unknown and fate. It's used for divination and understanding hidden truths.

Algiz (): Signifies protection and connection with the divine. It can be used for warding off harm and seeking guidance.

Sowilo (): Symbolizes the sun and success. It's used for empowerment, clarity, and achievement.

Tiwaz (): Stands for honor and justice. It can be used for courage, truth, and balancing conflicts.

Berkano (): Represents growth and nurturing. It's used for fertility, healing, and new beginnings.

Ehwaz (): Signifies partnership and progress. It can be used for teamwork and personal development.

Mannaz (): Symbolizes humanity and self-awareness. It's used for self-discovery, community, and social bonds.

Laguz (): Represents water and emotions. It can be used for intuition, healing, and purification.

Ingwaz (): Signifies fertility and masculine energy. It's used for creativity, abundance, and virility.

Dagaz (): Symbolizes daylight and transformation. It's used for breakthroughs, enlightenment, and personal growth.

Othala (): Stands for ancestral inheritance and roots. It's used for connection to heritage and spiritual grounding.

It's important to note that the interpretation and use of runes can vary among practitioners and traditions. To work effectively with runic magic, it's advisable to study the runes in depth, understand their symbolism, and respect the cultural and historical contexts in which they originated.


Back to blog